Kawana to remain in Kawana

In February 2017, the Queensland Redistribution Commission (QRC) released its proposal for the redistribution of the State’s Electoral Districts. A number of changes were proposed to the Kawana electorate, including transferring the suburbs of Buddina, Minyama and Parrearra (Kawana Island) to the Buderim electorate.

At the time, Member for Kawana, Jarrod Bleijie, expressed his concern at the proposed realignment and was alarmed that a large number of highly valued community-based organisations would be cut out as a result of the proposed changes.

“After engaging with local residents and community groups, it became clear that the Kawana community did not see the rationale to transfer Kawana based suburbs to Buderim,” Mr Bleijie said.

“Of the 1500 state-wide objections lodged with the QRC, over 500 were received from Kawana locals who objected to the proposed changes.

“I have always said I would abide by the final decision and I am very pleased the QRC has heard the community’s voice.

“I would like to thank the residents of Sippy Downs and Palmview who I have proudly represented since 2009.

“I have no doubt the LNP Candidate for Buderim, Mr Brent Mickleburg, will be a dedicated and vocal representative for the people of Sippy Downs and Palmview should he be elected,” he said.

The new electoral district of Kawana will commence at the intersection of Nicklin Way and Caloundra Road in the locality of Aroona, by Caloundra Road in a north-west direction to the Bruce Highway, by that highway in a north direction to Mooloolah River, by that river in a north-east direction to the coastline, by the coastline in an east direction around Point Cartwright, then southward bounded by the coastline to Currimundi locality, by the southern boundary of that locality boundary in a west direction to Buderim Street, by that street in a west direction to Nicklin Way, by that way in a south direction to the point of commencement.